Confirmation of the awards presented on Friday 12th May 2017

Confirmation of the awards presented on Friday 12th May 2017

Mousehole AFC celebrated the 2016/17 season with the largest club gathering for many years at Cornish Pirates HQ on Friday 12th May.

Chairman Tim Richardson opened the proceedings by thanking the management and players of all three teams for their hard work and support for each other, which he said had helped create a “one club” culture, a togetherness that was a valuable but rare commodity.

“Mousehole Women under managers Dawn Bateman and Leanne Harvey have had a great season, being on the verge of finishing 4th with their last big game to come on Sunday. They have an amazing team spirit – as also shown by their numbers here tonight – and are a real credit to the club.”

“The Reserves have suffered from having half their players promoted by necessity into the First team in mid-season, but Harry Tonkin and Mark Trevail, assisted by Tom Hooper, have battled to keep the team afloat with new signings and have got a good crop of youngsters, which is definitely the direction the club wants to go in.”

“For the First team, Steve Parker-Billinge deserves high praise for the courage and character he showed in taking on the manager’s job in January in difficult and unexpected circumstances, and with the able support of Darren Woodard and John Bailey, to have finished the season in 6th place is a remarkable achievement. Special credit is also due to the players who were strong-minded in making their decisions to stay loyal to the club at a time of upheaval, and to the Reserves’ players who have made the major step up and shown great commitment.”

The Chairman also praised all the committee members and volunteers for their many hours of “unseen” work behind the scenes and went on to outline some of the projects during the summer that would enhance Trungle Parc as a venue. These included: a major drainage and pitch surface project; re-vamped changing and referee’s rooms; 100 seats to be installed in the stand; new ‘dugouts’ on the clubhouse side; and hedging between the pitch and the camping field.

Tim Richardson concluded: “The future is bright for Mousehole AFC: it has a motivated, forward-thinking committee; the teams will re-build for success next season, and the club as a whole will continue to do all it can to be one of the most attractive set-ups in Cornwall.”

The annual awards were presented as follows:

Mousehole Women’s Team

Top goalscorer: Jo Barker

Most improved player: Jo Barker

Players’ player-of-the-year: Lyndsey Mayers

Managers’ player-of-the-year: Lyndsey Williams

Mousehole Reserves

Top goalscorer: Jamie Simons

Players’ player-of-the-year: Nathan Goodspeed

Manager’s player-of-the-year: Lee Robinson

Mousehole First Team

Top goalscorer: Luke Johnson

Players’ player-of-the-year: Billy Curtis*

Manager’s player-of-the-year: Kevin Lawrence**

(**Kevin Lawrence also announced as First team coach for next season)

Other Player Awards

Most improved player: Jason Simmonds

Most promising young player: Ben Chapman

Sportsman: Luke Johnson

Young player-of-the-year: Nathan Goodspeed

Committee’s player-of-the-year: Billy Curtis*

Supporter’ player-of-the-year: Billy Curtis*

* this was the first time the Players’, Committee’s and Supporters’ player of the year awards had all gone to one person

Non-Playing Awards

Club Person of the Year: Andrew Large

Supporter of the Year: Lisa Billinge

Anthony and Christine Tonkin Memorial Award: Tom Hooper

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.