Mousehole AFC will be flying the flag for Cornwall at the annual Football Content Awards taking place at Liverpool’s Anfield football stadium on Thursday evening.

There are awards to be won in 38 categories

The West Cornwall club, who play in the Pitching In Southern League First Division, have been shortlisted in the Best Non-League Club Section. The face competition from Chesterfield, Hashtag United, Dorking Wanderers, Sheffield FC and Punjab United among others. Other categories being awarded on the night include Best Premier League Content Creator, Best Podcast, Best Influencer and Best E-Sports Creator. As well as Premier League clubs, representatives from the major broadcasters such as Sky Sports and BBC will be there, alongside international representatives from Real Madrid, Barcelona and the US Major League Soccer.

Mousehole have been shortlisted for their online content, including match-day video and text reports, live Twitter feeds and live pages from each game. Their documentary series Way Out West charted the progress of the team as they competed for, and eventually won, the Western League in April this year. The series focused on the progress both on and off the pitch, looking at the work of the managing staff of the club and the strong band of volunteers that keeps it going.

The 2022 awards were held at Mercure Hotel Manchester

The club will be represented in Liverpool by chairman Deryk Heywood, media director Kevin Bishop, social media and website lead Jeff Richardson and match-day reporter Pablo-Woolls Blanco. There’s quick turnaround for the group who will be driving up to Liverpool on the day of the ceremony and straight back the next morning in time for the club’s Southern League match against Evesham on Saturday. Jeff Richardson – a former club manager – will be flying in for the event from the Netherlands from where he manages the club’s social media accounts.

Winners are awarded based on a combination of a public and jury vote. Judges include Ed Maylon, a founder of The Athletic and Isabel Hayle from Better Collective, a leading digital sports agency. The event is sponsored by Panini and Forza Football.

As well as voting for football content online, the event will also see awards for the content creators’ favourite footballers. Alessio Russo, Beth Mead and Lauren James are among the women’s nominations. Included in the men’s category are Erling Haaland, Marcus Rashford and Mo Salah.

The full shortlist for the ceremony is here:

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.