billy paulo jake awards evening


Over 100 Seagulls’ players, partners and supporters attended The Lugger Inn, Penzance, on Friday 1st June to celebrate a highly successful season for the club as a whole.

The opening presentation by Ezra Chapman referred to the many successes on the playing side. The First team finished 4th in the South West Peninsula League West Division as well as winning the Cornwall Charity Cup and reaching the Cornwall Senior Cup for the first time in the club’s history.  The Reserves were promoted to the Trelawny League Premier Division as champions of Division 1, with only one defeat and a record-breaking 100% away record.  The newly-established Thirds finished in fourth place in Trelawny League Division 4 with a team assembled only at the start of the season.  Mousehole Women recorded their highest-ever position as they came runners-up in the Cornwall Women’s League, beaten only by champions St Agnes.

In terms of infrastructure, the club had quadrupled the number of teams to 13, including nine youth teams, and trebled the number of registered players.  Improvements had been made to Trungle Parc, planning permission was in place for floodlights and the ground now met the standards of the League above.  Many other developments were in the pipeline as the club continues into an era of significant change.  The Committee had been strengthened and there are up to 35 volunteers who regularly contribute their time and expertise to the running and further development of the club.

Votes for player awards were as follows:

Club player of the year was Luke Johnson

First teamer Jake Andrew picked up three awards:  Manager’s player of the season, Most improved player and top-goalscorer with 25 in total.

Third team player Jowan May was his team’s leading goalscorer and also the top scorer in the whole club with 38 goals.

Top goal-scorer for the Reserves’ was Chris Bullock (28 goals) and for the Women’s team Sophie Wilson (30)

The club’s young male player of the year was Tyler Tonkin and the young female player was Megan Edwards, while Josh Storey was the most promising player.

The First team player’s player was Liam Andrew.

For the Reserves, the Manager’s player was Jason ‘JJ’ Simmonds, while the players’ player was Nathan Goodspeed.

The Third team Manager’s player was Kalon Mayes and the players’ player was Joe Gibson.

For the Women’s team, the Manager’s player of the season was Carly Jacka, the players’ player was Katy Barker, and the most improved player Flo Davies Kirsop.
Sportsman of the year was Tom George.


On the non-playing side the following awards were announced:

Club person of the season: Andrew Large
Supporter of the year: Antony ‘AJ’ Munro
Chairman’s Special Award: Ben Gibson

*At the South West Peninsula League Annual Presentation evening in Plymouth on Saturday 2nd June, Mousehole AFC were awarded prize money for their League Cup progress (the longest West Division surviving team in this season’s competition, and losing semi-finalists), and for finishing 4th in the table as well as runners-up in the ‘Respect’ scores.  They also had the second best average home attendance (92) in Division One West, which was better than that of 9 of the 20 clubs in the Premier Division.

Please follow and like us:

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.