charity cup final mousehole vs wadebridge





Mousehole finished off their season with a performance of style and power – and goals to grace any Final – to lift the Charity Cup with a convincing 5-0 scoreline for the second time in three years.

The Seagulls had progressed to this season’s Final of the 16-club competition having conceded only one goal in wins over Ludgvan, Penzance and Liskeard Athletic, while Wadebridge had beaten champions-in-waiting Millbrook, Carharrack and St Blazey.

The Cup was donated by Truro MP Sir Edward Durning Lawrence over 100 years ago,  and this year’s chosen charity is the Invictus Trust, a Cornwall-based organisation set up recently for teenagers who need mental health support  (more information at

Mousehole had finished their South West Peninsula League Division 1 West season in fourth place after a remarkable run of form from October, with only three League losses in 24 matches, together with narrow defeats to higher-league opposition in the League Cup semi-final and in a first-ever Senior Cup Final appearance.  The Bridgers had achieved seventh place, falling away after a promising start to the season, and had already been beaten by Mousehole 3-1 at home and 6-0 away.

The kick-off to the delayed Final – eventually scheduled three weeks after the official end of the League season – was preceded by the on-pitch presentation by the Cornwall FA of a Cap to Mousehole’s talented youngster Josh Otto in recognition of his eight appearances for the County’s Under-18s.

The match got off to a high tempo start in front of a sizeable crowd made up mostly of Seagulls supporters, and it was a highly committed Mousehole side – fielding five players from the 5-0 Final win over St Dennis two years ago – who completely dominated the first half.  Jamie Thomson had a goalbound shot deflected for a corner after 2 minutes and Tyler Tonkin volleyed just over from 25 yards in the next attack.  Goalkeeper Rob Rosevear made a great save from Luke Johnson’s fierce drive in the 15th minute, but on 24 the striker opened the scoring with dazzling 50-yard run at speed past two defenders and an unstoppable drive high into the net from just inside the box.

In the five minutes before the interval, Mousehole came close to increasing the lead their play deserved, Paulo Sousa firing wide from 18 yards, Luke Johnson denied again by Rosevear and shortly afterwards sliding a shot across goal and just wide.

The second half opened with Wadebridge fortunate to be only one goal down but showing some belief as Nathan Bonney fired a half-chance over the bar from an angle on 48.  But another spectacular goal saw Mousehole go two up in the 51st minute as Kevin Lawrence – making an impressive return to his former club territory – met a square pass with a first-time side-footed inch-perfect shot into the top left-hand corner from a central position 20 yards out.

Wadebridge created a chance after a breakaway on 56 minutes when 37-goal top scorer Dan Jennings had a shot blocked, and two minutes later Mousehole had a self-inflicted scare when ‘keeper Steve Parker-Billinge’s miskick from a difficult back pass trickled narrowly wide.  At the other end Kevin Lawrence put paid to any chance of a Bridgers’ comeback when he broke through two defenders’ tackles in the left-hand corner of the penalty area and swerved a brilliant right-footed shot just inside the far post for 3-0 on 64 minutes.

And it became 4-0 after 79 minutes with another ‘goal of the season’ contender.  This time Luke Johnson released Tyler Tonkin for a rampaging run down the right and his chipped ball into the middle was volleyed acrobatically into the roof of the net by Jake Andrew from around the penalty spot.  And the striker was on hand again in the first minute of added time, as youngster Louis Graham – with his first touch after coming on as a substitute – moved the ball forward adeptly into space where Andrew won the challenge with the converging defender and goalkeeper to roll the ball into an empty net.

So with the First team’s season ending on a memorable evening, the Reserves gaining promotion as Champions, the newly created Thirds finishing a creditable fourth, the Women’s team achieving a highest ever runners-up spot, and the new Youth teams showing great promise, Mousehole AFC have much to be proud of and, just as importantly, a great deal to look forward to next season and beyond.

Mousehole:  Steve Parker-Billinge, Tyler Tonkin, Billy Curtis (c), Liam Andrew, Calum Eliot, Kevin Lawrence, Jamie Thomson, Josh Otto, Paulo Sousa, Luke Johnson, Jake Andrew.    Substitutes:  Connor Davey (for Josh Otto, 64), Jordan Adlard (for Jamie Thomson, 85), Louis Graham (for Paulo Sousa, 90), Paul Williams

Scorers:  Luke Johnson (24), Kevin Lawrence (51, 64), Jake Andrew (79, 90+1).

Officials:  Martin Ault (Referee), Marc Rose & Stephen Nute (Assistant Referees), Shaun Edge (Fourth Official).

Please follow and like us:

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.